5th ESNA Team Chess Championship – Andorra 2017

Faroe Islands win the 5th European Small Nations Team Chess Championship

The 5th European Small Nations Team Chess Championship took place in Andorra la Vella, from 11th-19th November 2017.  In a very exciting finish of the Championship the last round determined the Champion of the event. Faroe Islands took a narrow victory in the direct match for the first place played against Andorra, and became the 5th European Small Nations Team Chess Champion!

The hero who brought the title to the Faroe Islands team was Nielsen Rogvi Egilstoft, the only one who scored for the Winners, while other games ended in a draw.  Second place went to Monaco who scored 15 match points, while Andorra finished third with 14 match points.

The President of European Chess Union, Mr. Zurab Azmaiparasvhili and FIDE Deputy Mr. George Makropoulos visited the event, observed games of the final round and attended the Closing Ceremony of the Championship which took place on 18th of November.

Together with regular prizes, the best players of each board were awarded with special prizes. The special prizes were awarded to: Board 1- Helgi Dam Ziska (FRA), Board 2- Tom Weber (LUX), Board 3- Robert Aloma (AND) and Board 4- Pierre Gengler (LUX).

Full coverage can be found on the official website: http://esna.escacsandorra.com/

This entry was posted in Team Championships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *