7th ESNA Team Chess Championship – Malta 2021

The team of Faroe Islands is the winner!

The 7th European Small Nations Team Chess Championship 2021 was organized in Sliema, Malta, taking place from 27th November – 5th December in the AX Victoria Hotel.  As usual, the event was supported by the European Chess Union and was opened by the ECU President Mr. Zurab Azmaiparashvili.

Nine federations (Andorra, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, and Monaco) participated in the event and the 10th ESNA Women’s Team completed the starting list instead of San Marino that did not participate due to covid issues. Each team consisted of four players and one reserve player.

Faroe islands – 1st Place

The 7th Small Nations Team Chess Championship 2021 was played in 9 rounds, round-robin system, with time control: 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game, plus 30 seconds increment for every move played starting from the first move.

Andorra – 2nd Place

Monaco – 3rd Place

All Results:  Click here

This entry was posted in Team Championships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *